IS SCIENCE REALLY THAT BORING?

Looking at the health section on the bbc website, it’s difficult to know where to start… what is it that draws us in and makes us want to read a story? The headline; the pictures; how much space it takes up on the page?

I could quite easily have carried on and chosen a number of articles that looked interesting as this is a subject area I enjoy. But I wanted an outsider’s point of view, from people who aren’t interested in science; would they want to read the stories as well?

So I asked my housemates to go on the BBC news website and look at the health section of the news. I then asked them out of all the stories on the page which one would you want to read and why did it catch your attention?

Living with 6 girls who study arts subjects, it’s not surprising that they were less than enthusiastic about my request, one response after only 2 minutes was ‘right now?’- great start. Clearly they were on the internet as this is where I made my request, so why not now? I waited for a response.

After an hour still nothing. I am now left with more questions than I started with. Why is the current generation opposed to the idea of science? And why with such great access to information do people still insist on ignoring it all?

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to IS SCIENCE REALLY THAT BORING?

  1. Lorna says:

    I really liked the whole idea behind this blog of getting your housemates involved for a non-scientist opinion on it all. However I think although attention grabbing, capitals in the title come across a little agressive and though they do make you think there are maybe a few too many questions in the blog? Still an enjoyable read though.

  2. This is fab! I forget that not everyone is as mad about science as I am. I am going to get my flatmates to do the same thing tomorrow! Although I don’t have much hope. Love the different take on the blog subject area.

  3. emilyvhampton says:

    Thank you Lorna for you feedback, it was very helpful. I didn’t actually mean to post it in capitals and I can see how this can come across aggressive. I will make sure I check everything through before I post next time!

Leave a Reply

