Be Yourself….who?

Oral Presentations!, It’s finally time for the real deal. We all (most of us I hope) might have attended at least one presentation skills workshop session with Tony Childs and probably got a chance to rehearse our presentations in front of a live audience.

This might have been enough practice for most of us but for people like me who are seriously introverted, more help is needed. I love this youtube video, it gives some really good practical tips on presenting especially for beginners.

There are also a lot of advice on the internet, this one in particular included “be yourself” in the list.

“Be yourself”….what?

This is “myself”…kind of

Seriously though, as an introvert, I really like my space and I do not really fancy giving presentations…..oral ones especially (I think a little social awkwardness comes into play here). If you’re outgoing and extroverted then this is excellent advice for you(although I would not advice too much clowning)

But I doubt how helpful “be yourself” will be to me in this case therefore I will not be taking it (how can I?). So for the duration of the presentation, I will not “be myself”. After the presentations, it’s probably back to”hi” from afar (I’m not that bad….yet ).

The best advice for me so far has been practice, practice, practice. I’ve found it takes away a lot of the edge.

P.S     If you’re not me, be yourself, it works…really and have fun presenting.

About ihuoma

I write about the things that I find interesting, most of the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

